The earth’s surface is divided into five zones, namely, the South Frigid Zone, the North Frigid Zone, the South Temperate Zone, the North Temperate Zone, and the Torrid Zone. Different kinds of climates are experienced in different regions across the world due to the various geographical zones. Cold climate is experienced in the Polar region and such places are termed as Frigid Zones too. South Pole and the North Pole are the two polar regions of the world.
In the Arctic northern region located are parts of Russia, Alaska, Norway, Canada and Greenland. In the southern region is the Antarctica Region. Both the regions experience temperatures that are extremely cold. The main reason for this is that they are located far away from the Equator. As compared to the rest of the areas, the polar region gets lesser sunlight. Permanent ice covers some land areas or all of the land areas. The daylight hours too are of extreme nature in the Frigid Zone.
For a part of the year, the two Polar Regions experience the polar night and the midnight sun. At the zone’s one edge at the winter solstice there is just one day. During this time, there is no setting or rising of the sun for all the twenty four hours. At the pole or the centre of the zone, the days are for all the twelve months literally. For six months the region experiences night and the rest of the six months is daylight. On the earth, the coldest regions of all are the Frigid Zones. This zone is covered with snow or ice generally.